Social Algorithms 8.0


Social Algorithms 8.0 : MUTATION

17 July - 25 July 2021

With another challenging year 2021 ahead, architects and urban researchers are asked to deny and re-define the past order of society. Whether living Un-tact or redefining home and office, we all are aware that lifestyle and space will be transformed. AA Visiting School Seoul respond to the changes that architects are faced to intervene, focusing on the theme, “Mutation”.

This year’s theme has been chosen to reflect the various approaches architects have been developing, expecting the creative interpretations of mutation will be placed on the discourse table. Urban mutations can be emerged by investigation and intervention on a series of issues related to the urban conditions, and mutations for the ‘new normal’ can be tested for transformation of form and arrangement.

Mutation can appear anyhow, anywhere, and in any figure. Whether as a new typology, sociocultural feature or spatial agent, whether artificial or natural, mutation responds to contemporary urban and architectural design. A city’s history and locality are embedded in architecture and inherited through mutation. This could be a social intervention in space, a generative design, or any new idea you have, and we would like to welcome you and share your thoughts.

AAVS Seoul has been researching ‘Social’, ‘Algorithms’ and their co-location in the experimental architecture and urbanism for the last 9 years, and aims to open up a discourse platform adopting new design and pedagogical methodologies. The programme will run as intensive 9-day workshop, and the workshop will run online.



James Kwang Ho Chung + 

Jongwon Na + Ja Kyung Kim

UNIT 1: Selected Images


Jaehyub Ko + Hee Joon Lee

UNIT 2: Selected Images


Laure Michelon + Case Miller

UNIT 3: Selected Images


Lloyd Sukgyo Lee +  Seungah Choi +
Hanjun Kim + Dongyun Kim

UNIT 4: Selected Images


Programme Directors: Jooeun Sung, Soomeen Hahm

Programme Coordinators: Hanjun Kim, Seungah Choi

Programme Committees:  Jinseok Park, Jaewon Yi, Dae Song Lee